Jackson, Wyoming

Jackson, Wyoming sits at 6,237 feet (1901 meters) above sea level in the northwest section of the state of Wyoming. Jackson was named for David Edward "Davey" Jackson in 1894 and is the county seat of Teton County. The population of the Town of Jackson is 9,577, with an additional 11,717 residents living within Teton County but outside of Jackson town limits. The effective population of both Jackson and Teton County tends to increase dramatically during certain times of the year due to our proximity to Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, the National Elk Refuge, and three world-class ski resorts.

Town of Jackson Hole?

"Jackson Hole" is a common nickname for this area and refers to the entire valley (including the Town of Jackson, Teton Village, Wilson, Moose, Moran Junction, Kelly, and Hoback) which is surrounded by Yellowstone National Park on the north, the Tetons on the west, the Gros Ventre Mountain Range on the east, and the Wyoming Range on the south. The Town of Jackson is the only incorporated municipality within the Jackson Hole valley or Teton County. Because of this we must foster relationships with the county government in order to provide the best possible level of services to our residents and visitors alike.

Jackson is a town rich with pride and appreciation of its unique scenic beauty and treasured wildlife populations. It's also an incredibly generous and supportive community with over 200 non-profit organizations performing important work everyday. Its culture is deep with western heritage as is reflected in the many art galleries around the famous Town Square.

For information about things to do and see visit Jackson Hole Chamber of Commerce.

Read more


Latitude: 43.481987 Longitude: -110.76236 Elevation: 6229 ft
the best travel advice comes from the people who live here
Frank Biasi


People often ask whether they are in Jackson Hole or Jackson. The answer is... both! Jackson Hole refers to the entire valley which is approximately 60 miles long. Jackson refers to the Town of Jackson which sits on the southern end of the Jackson Hole valley. 

Jackson Hole was originally populated by Native American tribes including the Shoshoni, Crow, Blackfoot, Bannock, and Gros Ventre. John Colter entered Jackson Hole during the winter of 1807/1808 during the return journey of the Lewis & Clark expedition. The area became a prime spot for trappers, and many famous mountain men traveled through the area in the early 1800s. These mountain men are responsible for many of the names in the valley including Bridger, Jedediah Smith, and Sublette. David "Davey" Jackson gave his name to the valley after a winter spent on the shores of Jackson Lake. 

As part of the Hayden Expedition of 1871 and 1872, William Henry Jackson took the first photographs of the Teton Mountains and Yellowstone. His photographs, along with the sketches by Tom Moran, were important evidence to convince Congress to protect Yellowstone National Park. Yellowstone National Park became the first National Park in the country in 1872 (18 years before Wyoming was even a state). Grand Teton National Park was created in 1920 and greatly expanded in 1950 through the generous efforts of John D. Rockefeller, who purchased and then donated over 30,000 acres.

The Town of Jackson was named in 1894. Some of the early buildings remain and can be found throughout the area of theTown Square. The Town of Jackson elected the first all-woman city council in 1920.

The first ski town was built at Teton Pass in 1937 and Snow King Resort was established in 1930. Teton County now boasts three excellent ski areas including Jackson Hole Mountain Resort in Teton Village, Grand Targhee Ski and Summer Resortlocated on the West slope of the Tetons, and Snow King Resort located right in the Town of Jackson.

The Town of Jackson is the county seat of Teton County and the only incorporated municipality in the region. Less than 3% of land in Teton County is privately owned. 97% of the 2,697,000 acres in Teton County is federally or state owned/managed.   

In 2009, the Town of Jackson was designated as a Preserve America Community. This designation recognizes that, as a community, we protect and celebrate our heritage, use historic assets for economic development, and encourage people to experience and appreciate local historic resources.

For more information about the history of Jackson, please visit the Jackson Hole Historical Society.


Leave a Comment